BUNKER HILL MONUMENT [caption title].

Salem, MA: Bunker Hill Monument Assn. 1829. Fund-raising circular and subscription form for donors. Folio. (3) pp. Verso of integral leaf employed for address label (this copy sent to “Hon. John McClellan / Woodstock, Ct.,” with the free frank of J.S. Sprague). The construction of the iconic Charlestown monument, gracing the summit of Breed’s Hill, was begun in 1825; this state-wide effort sought funds to complete the project (sales of residential lots on the slopes of the battlefield in the late 1830s were required to finally finish the project in 1843). In addition to the committee report, this solicitation includes a stirring address (signed in type by Wm. H. Prescott, Amos Lawrence, and John T. Winthrop, among others), speaking to the importance of the battle of Bunker Hill and the need for a proper memorial. McClellan (1767-1858), the son of Revolutionary War Gen. Samuel McClellan, was admitted to the bar in 1787, practicing in Woodstock to the end of his life and serving more than 20 years in the Connecticut legislature.; Sprague (1782-1852; Salem, Mass., public servant and politician) served as Salem postmaster and sheriff and in both houses of the state legislature; he was secretary of the association at the time of this fund raiser. American Imprints 37986. OCLC locates two copies (American Antiquarian Society, New York Historical Society). Folded, but very good. Item #65430

Price: $450.00