U.S. NAVAL OBSERVATORY, 1888. [gilt-stamped title in upper cover]

[Washington, D.C.]: 1888. Oblong 4to (8 x 10 3/4 inches). 14 photographs (each approximately 4 1/2 x 7 1/4 inches) mounted to thick paperboard leaves, rectos only, each leaf attached to an album stub. The Naval Observatory was founded in 1830 and construction of its new observatory, located at 24th & E Streets, NW, in Washington, D.C., was completed in 1844; Matthew Fontaine Maury was appointed its first superintendent. The photographs show buildings and the grounds of this location in Foggy Bottom, on the Potomac River, including two of the Observatory dome and two of a scientific instrument (possibly a small refracting telescope). The Observatory did not move to its present location on Massachusetts Avenue in Washington until 1893 and these photographs were taken just as construction was beginning on those new observatory grounds. According to the Naval Observatory's official website, the Old Observatory in Foggy Bottom was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1966 and was for a time the home of the Navy's Bureau of Medicine and Surgery. This album was apparently prepared for "L. C. W." [initials gilt-stamped in the upper cover], but we have been unable to discover his identity. Some soiling or a little foxing in the margins of the mounts, the photographs very good. Original pebbled leather (rubbed, corners badly bumped, spine completed perished).(9788). Item #60279

Price: $1,500.00